First story of Malta.Valletta

 As the august days was going by and summer weather was turning to autumn cold,I patently was waiting for my secret vacation for somewhere new,somewhere where i never been and always wanted to try,something special and on the other case familiar to me. And finally the awaited day has came.. I’m counting the finale second in my work and babmabama…I’m driving home,packing my luggages and waiting for car to take me to Kaunas airport.I’m taking an alleviator,buying some whisky (because for me plain trip it’s not very easy way to travel) after it I’m drinking a few glasses of champagne ( to make my trip less inconveniant :))..I passed through check-in and now taking a stares to sale and looking in all those flights and i really still don’t  have any idea where we’re going.. after an hour when all passengers where in theyr planes and we still were sitting I started to be nervous and asking: ,,it’s a joke”, ,,it’s not very funny ,what are you thinking about this”,,,you wasted my time…” after this monolog he took my hand and we ran so fast to our plane! Which was directed toooo… MALTA! And at that moment when I noticed it the first thing I thought about was you!MY lovely partner KAMILE 🙂

image-3

             Sorry for my bland monolog and let’s start our trip!

Warm weather,summer breeze and cooked octopus smell passed us when the plane  finally landed after 3 hours of flight with lithuanians applause… as usual 🙂 We passed throughout the gates and in front of the arrivals hall handsome,typical south european man took us from airport to our hotel Valentina in San’t Julian’s district.(downtown).

IMG_9758 IMG_9764 IMG_9734

Very smart, clean and efficient hotel, close to the night life of Paceville but on a quiet street away from the bars, water side restaurants are just a few minutes walk away as are the main bus routes in to town.Most of the personal was friendly,showed us ,,must see” places,restaurants and even gave us a few advises about night life,shopping and car rental.

IMG_9465

After few minutes of sleep and relaxation we decided to see nearest local bar or Gelateria…( I was waiting for this all the flight:)) After a walk along the Spinola bay coast we sat down on the sidewalk and just smell the breeze from the mediterranean sea and drank so puffy and light ,,Cassar de Malte”which  is the first Maltese sparkling wine, manufactured by traditional champagnization method. The Maltese version of champagne is quite «young», it has been produced since 1999!

 Morning beauty he said ! After a strong,but mediterranean sea flavored breakfast we started our tripping a long all bays of malta!

IMG_9775   IMG_9774

                                                                                    PUBLIC TRANSPORT &COMMUNICATION

The Maltese government is now in the process of re-nationalising the islands bus services. These are brilliant for getting around all of Malta’s sights and a seven day pass purchased at the airport also includes the X service buses that serve the airport. At only 6.50 Euros for a seven day pass this has got to be one of the best value transport systems in Europe! So if you’re not a brilliant traveller you still would get the idea of taking public busses for sure! And if in some cases you’re not there’s a second adorable communication which can really help you- RESIDENTS! From young to old every maltese speaking english ! On every corner you can noticed a lot of advertisement for english courses or private schools.

IMG_9762

IMG_9780

 

image-4IMG_9776

VALLETTA

Like all tourist we took a bus till the finale stop ,,Main bus terminus”.But our goal was somehow to buy tickets for ferry to other secret (which i didn’t knew then) country. NOW HOUSTON WE HAVE A PROBLEM ! Where to go next to reach ,,Virtu Ferry terminal”.. While we were searching for right way on iPhone our maltese business man with a horse taxi shout loudly ,,My friend a can help you” i felt exactly like in Istanbul ! So we took that adorable sweet and cute horse taxi to reach the terminal:)image-5

IMG_9781

After we bought a ticket for ,,somewhere” afcourse we haven’t got any idea how to reach the city center so like many of travelers we found a compromise -straight away !!! No i can’t imagine how stupid we were..It was too hot even to lay down in the hotel rest room or in swimming pool as well.. 43 degrees  of celcius ! I even take off my bra 😀 So after we passed Valleta’s water front we saw sight CITY CENTER I Can’t describe that amazing feeling when i under stud that the glass of water is somewhere near !! When we got through the arch the huge elevator  was waiting for me ! So finally we reached ,,Upper Barrakka Gardens”.

IMG_0282image-1

IMG_0581

IMG_9638

 This is a lovely place to take a stroll and take in the views over Valletta harbour. It’s also a great vantage point to view the ‘noon gun’ firing.Also if you’re the same fashion edict like me definitely take picture on Pope Pius V street stairs which are adorable by their architecture,color and history..Also try to find some energy and walk by the main street ,,Triq Ir Repubblika” which is filled with shops cozy restaurants and small cafes.

IMG_0574

IMG_9636

But it’s less that 10% of my story of this wonderland! More Action,Trips and Adventures on other review SOON !

Just for you! My dear reader:*

A.J

Leave a comment